Happy (short story)

Are you a writer? Want to share the pieces what you've written?
The redeem3r
Dwarf Thief
Location: On a pale blue dot, traveling wherever the Universe takes me

Happy (short story)

Post by The redeem3r » Fri 1st Nov 2013

WARNING: This short is really, very dark. Probably one of the darkest things I think I've ever written.

Background? I dreamed this story. One of my hobbies is making short films, and for this particular idea, I had to think very long and hard (think in terms of weeks) on how this would work as a written story as opposed to a short film.

So here I am tonight, I'm studying for a Physics midterm I have in 2 hours and the idea hits me, and in my sleep deprived (albeit highly motivated) state, I finally managed to get out in words what I dreamed. This is a ROUGH draft written in 20 minutes - I have no time to get a final draft out, I have a physics midterm in like 2 hours :(

Maybe later I'll improve it. But as for any grammatical errors (I didn't spot any but there may be a few), feel free to point them out. Beyond that, this is also my first piece of writing in 3 years, and to be honest, this has inspired me to pick up writing as a hobby once more.

Don't know if it's because I'm tired or what, but I feel as if their are huge consistency errors. My brain is all "physics physics physics" right now, not grammar or literature flow! I'll try to fix it, but for now all I can give you is a sorry.

But normally I wouldn't write something this dark, but for some reason the idea just fascinated me.

Tied to a chair, restricted, little could be done to solace the notion of forthcoming death. For the most part, any attempt at doing so would exacerbate the situation, and that would lead to the eventuality that is a mental breakdown. It is a common human characteristic, to break down in the face of fear.

I’m sorry, where are my manners? Let me explain to you how I got here.