Salutations!

New here? Tell us a little about yourself. Or are you going away for a while? Holidays?
Kontiki
Mud-Man

Salutations!

Post by Kontiki » Sat 15th Dec 2012

I'm a little late to the game it seems, but here I am regardless. I'm Kon tiki, named for the trans-pacific expedition of six Norwegians (and a parrot) on a balsa wood raft, bound for the Polynesian islands. It's fascinating stuff, really. It's also an old moniquer for the Inca sun god and the name of my parrot, but I digress... :awesome:

In any case, You can call me Tiki. I grew up with the Artemis Fowl series and am somewhat, unreasonably attached despite the fact that the series has ended (and left me with a gaping hole where my soul once resided). This is essentially what led me to find this forum, and hopefully many like minded individuals who are also not quite ready to let the series fade out of the limelight.

I suppose I should talk about myself. Well, I work as a wildlife rehabilitator in a licensed facility in the U.S. Pretty much my entire life is consumed with my job right now, so I apologize if I go off on tangents. You probably shouldn't tell me about that pet raccoon you want either because I'm likely to list every single reason why it's a completely terrible idea, and you shouldn't do it. In any case, I mainly do the bird thing. That's my niche. If you have bird questions I'm your gal. I also raise and keep insects. Right now I have around 15 species of cockroach, a spiny flower mantis, several different types of millipede, and lots of various arthropods and isopods that I've collected.

Apart from my job I also dabble in a few other pursuits. I like music, and played a viola for seven years. I've been drawing most of my life, and just recently (in the last year) took up wildlife photography. You can view my work here. I also enjoy other things like Doctor Who, Sherlock and various anime series. I'm especially fond of spice and wolf.